Monoprinting

img_0227
Monoprinting: is a form of printmaking that has images or lines that can only be made once, unlike most printmaking, where there are multiple originals.

img_0226
Looking for inspiration in regards what to create, the texture of tin foil caught my attention. Resembling a cloudy night sky, or at least how I think it came out, gave my city scape a nice stark background and added a slight gloomy ambiance. This contrasted well to the bright colours used both in the building silhouettes and the leaves. Although initially I was disappointed the buildings ink didn’t completely transfer, I’ve grown to quite like the effect, the more distressed look makes the design feel completely different to how I intended but a good attempt overall.

img_0228
In my second attempt when using a flat inked background, I wanted to stick with the same theme, but make this one more optimistic. I, instead of using black, opted for a blue-faded-to-white base and lauerd time ink soaked string on top of that. I think it came out looking quite like wispy clouds, how I had intended, and made the composition look more innocent. It almost looks childlike due to the bright colours and more random curved lines.

Evaluation

I think a wider use of fabrics would have been interesting, and a prospect I would like to explore in future when mono printing again. I only had a limited choice in regards to my range of materials being that the whole class was doing the same activity thus, we were all sharing materials from the workshop.

I think the tinfoil worked surprisingly well, and it’s a texture I probably wouldn’t have thought of initially. The scrunched texture along with the leaves printed gave the composition an interesting twist. The leaves reminiscent of a tropical image while the oil sky looking stormy. Perhaps adding a dream-like/surrealist quality of these two contrasting images in one piece.

I think the printing with natural objects is also something I enjoyed, very reminiscent of flower pressing in primary school. I will probably use this also in future prints.

A more extensive city scale would be an interesting project in this setting. The minimal shapes gives the image a pop art type aesthetic however I think it would be interesting to explore a more detailed piece. All then depends on how the printing press would deal with that, after all the simpler the print the better normally.

Leave a Reply

